Driving Under the Influence
Driving Under the Influence - Liberty Law
To find out about our flexible and affordable payment options or to receive a free consultation, call us today: 801-264-6666. Our experience with DUI law and aggressive approach to legal defense help our clients keep their freedom and licenses.
Being charged with a DUI not only puts you at risk for jail time, but can also cause you to lose your drivers license. Having our experienced DUI attorneys at both your criminal and Drivers License Division (DLD) hearing will change the outcome of your case.
In Utah, you can be charged with driving under the influence if you (1) have illicit drugs, prescription drugs, or alcohol in your system, (2) present a “bad driving pattern”, and (3) fail field sobriety tests administered by the officer. If you test a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level higher than .08, you will be automatically charged with a DUI. Depending on your condition, you could be immediately jailed between 2 days to 6 months. If convicted of a DUI, you will also be ordered to pay a fine, up to $1,500.
You can drive for thirty (30) days after being charged with a DUI, but you must request a hearing with the Drivers License Division (DLD) within 10 days of being charged, or your license is automatically suspended. The DLD hearing will happen within the 30 day time limit. At that hearing, the DLD decides if your license is suspended. The license can be suspended for periods ranging from 120 days to over 2 years. Contact Utah Liberty Law: 801-264-6666, so we can begin your aggressive DUI defense today.